Gulab Jamoons at 38,000 feet!


The first day after my three day weekend began with my waking up at 1 am in the morning to catch my flight to Dubai and then onwards to Milan.
I wonder why they talk about recession in air traffic: certainly it does not seem to be applying to Dubai Airport and Emirates flights. The lounge in Dubai airport was packed to the hilt and even considering that it was morning time, there seemed to be long queues in the toilets! It just appears to me that although passengers coming into Dubai have dropped, the number of passengers transiting through Dubai has appreciably been increasing. Thus clearly, Emirates marketing strategy of selling Dubai as a transit point has been working for passengers traveling from the west of Dubai to the east of Dubai. My belief strengthened when I learnt that the flight to Milan (and there are two flights a day) was full.
On the six and a half hour flight to Milan, I was treated to a sumptuous Asian Vegetarian Meal and the crowning glory was the plate of six Gulab Jamoons which served as one of the desserts. Given my weakness for sweets and considering that my sweetless period of one year had just passed, I succumbed to the temptation! Although the Jamoons were small sized somebody must tell Emirates that six is indeed a large number!
Later in the evening! I took a stroll outside my hotel and soaked in the sights of the beautiful Milan Cathedral and the surroundings. I picked up courage and stayed away from the gelataria outlets dotting the scenario, thanks to the dessert escapad on the flight in the morning.
Am ready to set out for my work today and my colleagues have just joined in!

About Vijay from Muscat

A cheerful person who loves watching and reviewing movies and indulges in random writings!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Gulab Jamoons at 38,000 feet!

  1. Your comments on TBL do encourage to have a dekho specially after sitting through torturous 2.5 to 3 hours in some of the recent big budget stupidities .Hope to catch it on the coming thursday ,if it dose not vanish till then.
    Long back( 1989) in Lufthanza air filght to Dusseldorf I had a surpsrise after meal item in the form of a frozen PAN . It was a delight worth remembering till date.

    I wish you all the best for the therapy sessions at Coimbotoreand look forward to return of recharged Vijay.

Leave a Reply

