THREE IMPORTANT DATES IN A ROW


THREE IMPORTANT DATES IN A ROW

Yesterday, Today and Tomorrow,
Three important dates in a row!
Wow, that sounds rather lyrical, doesn’t it? Well, the fact of the matter is that these three dates are important dates! Yesterday, April 28th, 2011 was when the mortal remains of the great Sri Sathya Sai Baba were interred in the earth; the hallowed Mother Earth from which all living beings are born and into which every being merges once life is extinguished. I do not have any answer for anyone who may ask as to whether this statement is valid for any being which passes away in outer space and is in perpetual orbit!! Great people, like Sai Baba, will live on in the minds and hearts of millions of people in this generation and several more to come, because they stood for values which are immortal.
Today is an important date for me and my colleagues at Khimji Ramdas, a 141 year old, hundred percent family owned conglomerate in Oman; it marks the setting up of a small office for the Infrastructure Group to look at the up-market project lighting segment in India.
Tomorrow, April 29th, 2011 has of course already become well known as the Royal Wedding Date.
For the last rites of Sri Satya Sai Baba which took place in Puttaparthi yesterday, there were no invitations sent out to be there in Puttaparthi. You and I could have gone to the place. I chose not to go although I was in Bangalore because I personally felt better at offering a few silent prayers rather than be in the midst of crowds. For today’s inauguration in Bangalore, I am the person who has sent the invitations!! For the Royal Wedding, I must confess that I have not been invited, although it would have made me feel good if I had received an invitation! My disappointment lessened when I heard that two past premiers were also not invited; and I felt actually relieved that I was not invited when I learnt that Rowan Atkinson (of Mr Bean fame) was going to be present. I have nothing against Rowan Atkinson; the only issue is with me: if I saw him at the wedding in Westminster Abbey, I might have been reminded of one of Mr Bean’s episodes and might have started laughing uncontrollably, much to the chagrin and embarrassment of the rest of the crowd!
And off, I am now, for our function!

About Vijay from Muscat

A cheerful person who loves watching and reviewing movies and indulges in random writings!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

